JHMI Office of Communications and Public Affairs

October 21, 1998

For press inquiriesonly, please call (410) 955-6680.

Election to the National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine

Five faculty from the Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions have joined the ranks of the National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine. The IOM is a prestigious body that brings together national leaders in the fields of health and medicine, social and behavioral sciences, law, administration and economics to develop solutions to a broad range of health policy issues.

The new members from Hopkins are: Edward J. Benz Jr., M.D., Sir William Osler Professor and director of the Department of Medicine; Henry Brem, M.D., professor of neurosurgery, oncology and ophthalmology; Morton F. Goldberg, M.D., William H. Wilmer Professor of Ophthalmology and director of the Wilmer Eye Institute; Martha N. Hill, Ph.D., R.N., professor and director of the Center for Nursing Research, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing; and Donald Price, M.D., director of the Division of Neuropathology in the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

With their election, members pledge to volunteer significant amounts of time on committees that evaluate ways to improve health. Recent reports from the IOM include Control of Cardiovascular Disease in Developing Countries, Taking Action to Reduce Tobacco Use and America's Children: Health Insurance and Access to Care. Only 55 new members were elected from across the country.

-- JHMI --
Search Press Releases

News Media Home | Hopkins Medicine Home