March 1996
Media Contact: Unkown
Phone: (410) 955-xxxx


* March 26, S. James Adelstein, M.D., Ph.D., Paul C. Cabot Professor of Medical Biophysics at Harvard Medical School, will deliver this year's Walter E. Dandy Lecture at 4 p.m. in Turner Auditorium at The Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions. His topic will be: "Signals and Systems in Cancer: A Nuclear Medical Approach."

* Open to the public.


THREE ON FACULTY HOLD MEDICAL SOCIETY ROLES. Three members of the faculty at the School of Medicine are serving in positions in the Baltimore City Medical Society. Sheldon Goldgeier, M.D., (Baltimore 21209) an instructor, is on the board of directors; Allen D. Jensen, M.D., (Baltimore 21218) associate professor of ophthalmology; is the group's delegate to the Maryland Medical Society's House of Delegates and James K. Smolev, M.D., (Baltimore 21239) assistant professor of urology, is an alternate delegate.

CAMPOCHIARO AT HOPKINS RECEIVES RESEARCH AWARD. Peter A. Campochiaro, M.D., (Baltimore 21210) professor of ophthalmology in The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, has received a $50,000 Lew R. Wassernan Merit Award from the national Research to Prevent Blindness Inc. organization to pursue drug research related to his work as a vitreoretinal surgeon. He also was the recent recipient of the 1996 Rosenthal Award from the national Macula Society in recognition of his research.

HOPKINS HOSPITAL NAMES INFECTION CONTROL DIRECTOR. Trish M. Perl, M.D., M.Sc., an assistant professor of medicine at the University of Iowa, has been appointed director of infection control and hospital epidemiologist at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Perl, who completed a fellowship in infectious diseases and clinical epidemiology in Iowa, also served as associate director of infection control at the University of Iowa Veterans Affairs Hospital.

HOPKINS' BELL RECEIVES AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE. William R. Bell, M.D., (Baltimore 21210) professor of medicine at The Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, has received the Mary Betty Stevens Award for Excellence in Clinical Research from the Maryland Chapter of the American College of Physicians. Named for a deceased professor of medicine at Hopkins, the award honors Bell for his work in the field of coagulation disorders.

HOPKINS HEALTH SYSTEM/HOSPITAL FILL BENEFITS POST. Paul Keller, vice president of human resources at Our Lady of the Resurrection Medical Center in Chicago since 1993, has joined the Department of Human Resources and Organizational Effectiveness of the Johns Hopkins Health System and The Johns Hopkins Hospital as the director of benefits and compensation. He served in various human resources management positions in hospitals and Blue Cross/Blue Shield in New Jersey from 1987 to 1993.

HOPKINS' BLACKMAN HEADS NATIONAL EYE, EAR GROUP. Jay H. Blackman, (Towson) administrator at the Johns Hopkins Wilmer Institute, has been named chairman of the American Association of Eye and Ear Hospitals. Founded in 1983, the association is an established force in the federal legislative and regulatory decision-making processes affecting hospital-related issues.

HOPKINS' VOGELSTEIN, KINZLER CITED FOR RESEARCH PAPERS. Bert Vogelstein, M.D., professor of oncology and molecular biologist in The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, has been cited by Science Watch for the third consecutive year for authoring the greatest number of highly cited research reports--13--over the last two years. Kenneth W. Kinzler, Ph.D., (Bel Air) associate professor of oncology, also was cited as coauthor of the 13 fielded reports and moved from last year's # 3 placement into the top berth on the current list of the Institute for Scientific Information's Hot Papers Database.

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS HONORS STOBO. John D. Stobo, M.D., (Baltimore 21218) chairman and chief executive officer of Johns Hopkins HealthCare and professor of medicine in The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, has been awarded a Mastership by the Board of Regents of the American College of Physicians for his distinguished contributions to internal medicine. He also is chairman-elect of the American Board of Internal Medicine and past president of the Association of Professors of Medicine.

-- JHMI --
Search Press Releases

News Media Home | Hopkins Medicine Home